From Light Craft Magazine August 1958 - supplied by Alec Mamwell

The first annual championships for 17ft 6in Osprey Class were held in Saundersfoot Bay South Wales, on June 7th & 8th. Twenty-two boats competed and Tony Phillips, in Stardust, won the Daily Telegraph Points Cup for the best performance in three races.

Conditions were boisterous for the Martini Trophy race on Saturday, with gusts of over 20 knots. Stardust and Jabberwock (S Edwards) led at the weather mark, but were overtaken on the run by Nebulus (Ian Proctor). This was the patternĀ  throughout the race, Nebulus with lighter crew gaining on the run, but losing again on the beat and fetch. Stardust was firmly established in the lead on the second round and Nebulus planned past Jabberwock and Ballerina (L Edwards) to finish second, when the wind free alightly on the final fetch to the finish.

The wind had eased to about 15 knots for the Saundersfoot Cup race the next morning. Peter Gartrell, present champion of the National Redwing class, led in Wendy atĀ  the first mark, but Nebulus passed her on the next reach and opened away throughout the race, to finish well ahead. Wendy and Stardust had a close battle for secondplace. Wendy coming to the finishing line just ahead, but passing the limiting mark on the wrong side and so giving second place tp Stardust.

With a first and second each, Stardust and Nebulus then tied on points and the last race was an exciting duel between them. Nebulus lead all through the raceuntil the final beat, when Stardust, sailing very well to windward, slipped by 100 yards from the finish, thus winning the Proctor and Daily Telegraph Trophies.


Daily Telegraph Points Trophy

1st Stardust A Phillips

2nd Nebulus Ian Proctor

3rd= Jabberwock S Edwards

3rd= Ballerina L Edwards

Martini Trophy

1st Stardust

2nd Nebulus

3rd Ballerina

Saundersfoot Trophy

1st Nebulus

2nd Stardust

3rd Wendy P Gartrell

Proctor Trophy

1st Stardust

2nd Nebulus

3rd Jabberwock